Conservative MPs hold dinner to celebrate 35th anniversary

The 10 surviving Conservative MPs who were first elected to Parliament in June 1983 held a celebratory dinner at the House of Commons on Monday evening (11th June).

In the landslide Conservative election victory of 1983 under Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, 101 new Conservative MPs were elected and 41 of those have gained Ministerial office during their time in Parliament.

The ten still continuing to serve in Parliament are pictured on the House of Commons terrace. Following the event, Rt Hon Sir David Evennett MP commented: “whilst it was great to reminisce and celebrate, my close friend Sir David Amess and I spent much of the evening discussing the future and in particular the huge opportunities for Global Britain post Brexit”.

Pictured are: Rt Hon Sir David Evennett MP, Sir David Amess MP, Rt Hon Sir Nicholas Soames MP, Rt Hon Sir Michael Fallon MP, Rt Hon Sir Greg Knight MP, Rt Hon Alistair Burt MP, Sir Henry Bellingham MP, Sir Roger Gale MP, Sir Edward Leigh MP, Sir Christopher Chope OBE MP.