Evennett concerned about Gipsy Road footbridge closure

Rt Hon David Evennett, Member of Parliament for Bexleyheath and Crayford, has been making representations to Network Rail over the closure of their footbridge in Gipsy Road, Welling.

The pedestrian link between Gipsy Road and South Gipsy Road shut suddenly in April as the structure was deemed unsafe, with no information provided to residents about a timetable for repairs.

image3

Mr Evennett has established that interim works might take place in August – four months after the bridge was closed – with a replacement bridge not scheduled to be erected by Network Rail until at least 2018.

Mr Evennett said “I am extremely disappointed that this bridge was closed without any notice and that no signage has been erected to tell pedestrians about alternative routes over the railway line. I appreciate that the structure may not be safe, however, there had not been any indication to me or residents that there was a problem and the proposed timescale for replacement is unacceptable.

“I am also concerned that the fencing erected is not adequate as I have received complaints that people are climbing on the bridge and continuing to use it. I will continue to make representations on behalf of my constituents as Network Rail has failed to handle this situation properly.”

