My Favourite Church – St Paulinus, Crayford

St PaulinusI have nominated St Paulinus Church in Crayford as my favourite church. People are being asked to nominate their favourite churches by The National Churches Trust as part of their 60th anniversary.

The initiative aims to promote awareness of churches as some of the UK’s most important and best loved buildings and of the need for continuing funding to keep them in good repair for future generations. Since 1953, the National Churches Trust has helped to keep churches of all Christian denominations open by funding over 12,000 grants and loans, worth over £85 million at today’s prices, to pay for urgent repairs and the installation of modern facilities. An independent charity, the National Churches Trust is funded entirely by voluntary donations.

In my submission, I said:

“My favourite church is St Paulinus, Crayford. It is not just because I am a member and regular attendee that I love this church, but because it is a beautiful and historic building. Situated on the hill overlooking Crayford town, it dominates the skyline. It is also the place where my parents’ ashes are buried.

“Originally Norman built nearly 1000 years ago, both inside and outside it has tremendous charm and beauty. From its tower you get a fantastic view across the area and inside there are memorials to local landowners and persons of note. In particular, the widow of Admiral of the Fleet Sir Cloudesley Shovell is buried in the Church and there is a fine window dedicated to St Paulinus.”

