MP celebrates 30th anniversary of his first election

Fifteen MPs including Government Ministers David Evennett, Michael Fallon and Greg Knight enjoyed an evening to mark the 30th anniversary of their first election to Parliament with a dinner at the House of Commons on Monday evening, 10th June.

The MPs were elected on 9th June 1983 as part of the landslide poll victory for the then Prime Minister, the late Baroness Thatcher.

Only 16 MPs in total remain in Parliament from the 1983 intake. Mr Evennett served as the MP for Erith and Crayford from 1983 to 1997 and has been MP for Bexleyheath and Crayford since 2005.

The event was organised by Business Minister Michael Fallon and the guest speaker was former Cabinet Minister, Peter Lilley MP.