MP presents skills award

David Evennett, MP for Bexleyheath and Crayford, is pictured with Bexleyheath resident Gary Miles at the Regional Adult Learners’ Week awards on Thursday 17 May. Mr Miles received a London award, presented by Mr Evennett, for his learning achievement at a ceremony at the Museum of London.

Mr Miles has worked at Tate Britain for 27 years, but had never felt able to tell anyone that he found it difficult to read and write. After changes to his role as Visitor Experience Manager meant he needed to produce more written work, he faced up to his problem. Mr Miles was helped by his employers and attended Dyslexia Action courses.

Mr Miles said: “At this point my life changed forever. Being dyslexic had stopped me dead in my tracks for most of my life, but after having the right training and support I suddenly realised I could do so much. I was someone who was petrified of telling anyone that I found it hard to read and write, but now that I have, what a difference it has made.”

He now runs workshops at Tate Britain for adults with dyslexia.

Mr Evennett said: “I was delighted to meet Gary and congratulate him on his real achievements. I hope that his experiences will be an inspiration to others to up-skill, re-train and get the help they need”.

Pictured: David Evennett MP, Gary Miles, Sheila Miles (mother) and Rachel Miles (wife).

