MP warns Southeastern over 2012 fare rises

Bexleyheath and Crayford MP, David Evennett, has called on local rail operator Southeastern Railway to show “restraint” when setting their 2012 rail fares and parking charges.

The formula used to set average rail fare rises during the next three years is the July retail price index level, plus 3%. This means that in 2012, prices could increase by an average of 8%.

Commenting on the situation, Mr Evennett said “I am naturally concerned about the potential fare increases in January. As I said in the House of Commons debate I secured earlier this year, Southeastern Railway has demanded vastly higher fares from my constituents without a substantial increase in performance.

“In this tough economic and financial climate, I would urge restraint on Southeastern’s part when deciding their 2012 rail fares and parking charges. Otherwise, Southeastern could end up pricing people off the railway”.

