Meeting with Ofgem about their power cuts report

David Evennett, MP for Bexleyheath and Crayford, met with Stuart Cook and Sam Peacock of Ofgem on Tuesday morning (27 October) to discuss their report into the July 2009 power cuts.

During the meeting, he criticised Ofgem for taking so long to publish their report and for not punishing EDF Energy (EDFE) in any way for their failure to adequately secure the cable bridge site.

He highlighted concerns about EDFE’s poor response to the incident and their lack of a contingency plan for such events, which affected over 94,000 people in Bexley and North West Kent. He said that Ofgem should not have proposed fining EDFE if they were not going to follow this through.

“I am disappointed that Ofgem did not stand up to EDF Energy”

He also suggested that Ofgem should look at including a clause in future network operating licences to ensure that there is a duty to provide more adequate security to protect supplies.

Mr Evennett said “Whilst I do welcome the extra goodwill payments and money for the local community, EDFE’s failures have not been properly highlighted, nor have they been sufficiently rebuked for their inadequacies. I am disappointed that Ofgem did not stand up to EDFE. I hope that both Ofgem and EDFE learn from the mistakes that have been made and that such incidents cannot happen again.”


Mr Evennett’s statement of Friday 22 October, issued following the publication of their report.

“I am very disappointed that it has taken so long to publish this report and that my constituents have had to wait for such a time for the results of these enquiries.

“The report does acknowledge concerns that EDF Energy could have done more to prevent this incident from occurring so I welcome the announcement of extra payments to eligible customers.

“I am pleased that EDFE are going to provide £750,000 for the local community in recognition of the impact that the power cuts had on our area. I believe that the people in some of the worst affected parts of my constituency, such as Crayford and Slade Green, deserve to benefit from this investment and I shall pursue this matter with EDFE.

“I hope that lessons have been learned and such an incident does not happen again.”

You can find out more here: http://www.ofgem.gov.uk/Pages/MoreInformation.aspx?file=EDFE Dartford 22 Oct.pdf&refer=Media/PressRel

