Hospital plans suspended

David Evennett, MP for Bexleyheath and Crayford, has welcomed the suspension of the A Picture of Health proposals affecting Queen Mary’s Hospital, Sidcup.

The decisions made by the A Picture of Health board will be assessed against the following criteria, which have been published by the new Secretary of State for Health, Rt Hon Andrew Lansley MP:

1. Support from GP commissioners will be essential;

2. Arrangements for public and patient engagement, including local authorities should be further strengthened;

3. There should be greater clarity about the clinical evidence base underpinning proposals;

4. That proposals should take into account the need to develop and support patient choice.

Mr Evennett said “I welcome this new review of the A Picture of Health proposals. I believe that there were flaws in the previous consultation process that I hope can be addressed during this review. I will be making representations on behalf of my constituents and I would urge everyone to make their views known when the review begins.”

Mr Evennett will also be writing to local GPs about the review.

